Reflection

Christmas is the best time of the year. The holiday spirit and songs playing on the radio are so contagious and never fails to put me in such a good mood. December is the time of the year that I look forward to most. It’s the time when I go shopping with my mom and sister, struggling to find the perfect Christmas gifts. It’s the time when our family dresses up to take a picture with Santa Clause. It’s the time of year when I am reminded of my childhood…

tumblr_mzb02ye1C21s3agngo1_500

When we were assigned to share our winter break highlights in English class, I was excited to pour my thoughts and feelings on the topic. I felt like I had done so much in the past two weeks, only to find that the only event worth sharing was me completing my history homework on time and going to half my cross country practices. It was then that I realized what I did/accomplished during winter break was not worth mentioning. But for me… spending time with family and friends was the best accomplishment.

One of the highlights of my winter break was my cousin’s family coming down to Socal for Christmas.  I was beyond excited to hear that and even spent time making a bucket list with my cousin, Amy, and planning what we were going to do while she was here. Rather than spending time achieving the mini tasks on our “things-to-do” list, we watched countless movies on Netflix together, slept in till noon, and babysat my siblings… It was in the middle of the week that we realized we had not done anything productive… and we were OK with that.

I hadn’t seen my cousin’s family in over 5 months and just being with them made me extremely happy. That, by far, was the best Christmas gift yet. I was grateful to be surrounded by family and friends. It made me happy to see everyone smiling and enjoying their time. My favorite part of the evening was when we were gathered around the Christmas tree and opened presents. It reminded me of the good old times when I was young and so eager for Christmas to come so I could write letters to Santa… Oh how times have changed.

tumblr_mz5uecNBRx1sp4ityo1_500

I wanted to take a moment to reflect on what truly mattered to me. Although this may sound cheesy and over exaggerated, I just wanted to share some highlights of my winter break. I hope you all had a happy holidays. Happy New Year’s!

-Michelle Doan

2 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. That first picture is what caught my eye! Where is it from? It’s so beautifully drawn! 🙂 The post itself is also really well written! I am super close to my cousin as well, and so I can completely relate. Whenever I stay with her, we always have a fun time watching tv, talking, and staying up late, sometimes not even bothering to go to sleep! Great post, Michelle 🙂
    -Dorothy

Leave a Reply

